The Teaching the Codex Project


Registration closes on 28th April 2017.

Click here to download the timetable!

codexoutsidePalaeography and codicology encompass skill sets which are applicable and of use to a broad range of disciplines across the Humanities. Most students encounter them for the first time at graduate level, in spite of their wide-reaching implications for our understanding and interpretation of the texts and documents with which we work. The approaches taken to teaching and using these skills vary according to the subject area, and interdisciplinary collaboration is often informal.

Teaching the Codex was launched with a colloquium at Merton College Oxford on 6th February 2016 as a special event in the calendar of Merton’s History of the Book Group. This event brought together academics from a range of disciplines who are experienced in teaching palaeography and codicology, which enabled a series of discussions on diverse pedagogical approaches.

Our next colloquium will be on 6th May 2017. In order to further discussion, the format of this colloquium will vary from that of 2016. Morning and afternoon sessions will each consist of two panels running concurrently  followed by a plenary session. For further information, bookmark the 2017 Teaching the Codex colloquium homepage.

We hope that the discussions stimulated by this project will lead to the sharing of resources between disciplines. The Teaching the Codex website facilitates discussions and resource-sharing in a digital forum via monthly guest blog posts and occasional Teachable Features. Follow us here and on Twitter to keep up with further announcements.

We are grateful for the sponsorship of: Oxford Medieval Studies, sponsored by the Oxford Research Centre in the Humanities (TORCH) (2016, 2017); the Merton College History of the Book Group (2016, 2017); the Lancelyn Green Foundation Fund(2016, 2017); the Craven Committee(2016); and the Society for the Study of Medieval Languages and Literature (2017).

Organisers: Tristan E. Franklinos and Mary Boyle.
Committee members: Alex Peplow and Jessica Rahardjo.